Reading for 5/30

Tomorrow we’ll finish discussing Fabian Ludueña’s H.P. Lovecraft – The Disjunction in Being by looking at the second half of the book and Alejandro’s “Three Fragments and Three Figures After Ludueña’s Lovecraft”. Since I’m late posting again this week, I’m going to suggest we make  “Appendix: Astrophobos, or In-Harmonia Mundi; Glosses on Lovecraft’s Poetry” optional. If people read the appendix we’ll discuss it, but otherwise we’ll stick to the last two chapters and Alejandro’s interpolation at the end.

Reading for 5/23

I actually have an excuse for posting so late this week. I thought I’d found a pdf of this week’s reading when we first read it some years ago, but it turns out we didn’t do the whole book. So I had to scan the whole thing. But it’s a thin book without much weight and my scanner was leaving black marks where the pages weren’t firmly across the glass, so I scanned it with my phone, which is a bit janky but I hope not too terrible. I will try to scan it again at a place with a heavier scanner lid today. Until then, enjoy the intro and first two chapters of Alejandro’s translation of Fabian Ludueña’s H.P. Lovecraft – The Disjunction in Being. The second half will be posted next week if we stick with it, which I hope we will!

(The link has been giving some issues on my home wifi but works fine on my phone. If it is not working for you, try on a different network or email birdsoffire [at] riseup [dot] net and I’ll send it to you.)

Reading for 5/9

I was unsure what we should read this week as suggestions weren’t especially forthcoming last time. Been reading Beyond Good and Evil the last few days, so let’s do a segment from that. Part Five: “Natural History of Morals” (pp. 97-118).